top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNikkiHallman

Sex and the small city- Ep 2: So, the zipper...

For some reason, I find myself dating a lot of blonde guys, including Mike. He's a border-line-red-head kind of blonde. We get a high top table but I had to pee really bad so I excused myself to the restroom.

And what do you know, I can't get my pants zipped! My zipper, which is on my left hip, would not zip up! It broke and just at the beginning of my fricken date. I should have waited.

Now, here I am with a huge hole in the side of my pants because my zipper only went up half way. Thankfully, my shirt could cover most of it and you couldn't tell while I was sitting down.

Mike brought games. Literally, he brought card games. 'What do you meme', 'New phone who dis'. I liked the thought of making the first date less awkward, but the games needed more than two people to play. Those didn't last very long.

"So, you're a Capricorn right?" Mike asked.

Yes. He started spitting gen Z talk. To be fair we both had it on our profiles, but to use my zodiac first, kind of surprised me.

"Yeah, I am," I responded.

"When's your birthday?" he asked.

"January 16."

"No way. Is it really?" he shockingly responded.

"Yeah really. Wait is yours too?"

We were literally born on the same fricken day. WTF. He even showed me his ID and I couldn't believe it.

This is the part in the movie where you pause and look deeply into each others eyes, knowing this is a moment of fate...But, this is real life. And as excited I was about it, I still wasn't sure how excited I felt about this guy.

We discussed a little about our past, jobs, relationships, family, etc.

I didn't really hear red flags, and I couldn't help but think about how attractive he was.

I remembered that he works for the County doing different security. Ironically, there was a Law Enforcement Banquet about two weeks away from our first date. I had to ask him if he was going. Before I got a chance, he asked if I was.

As a reporter, I cover a lot of events and government meetings. This fell right between the two and sure enough, I was going. I was literally assigned to the banquet.

I mentioned how I attend nice events where I often get to dress up.

"So is this one of those times you have to get yourself a nice dress?" he asked me.

"Oh, yes it is," I responded with a smirk.

I love that he made the comment about the dress code for the event we both would be at and I love fashion. Brownie points for Mike.

Overall we had a good time. As we were leaving, he walked me to my Jeep and gave me a hug. Nope, no kiss to assist with the dry spell although, I think I was a little nervous myself.

This is the first time I've been on a real date since my last relationship over a year and a half ago. I had no idea what I was going to feel. Before anything else could happen, word vomit hit me.

"Well, I would definitely like to see you again," I said with question.

"Oh, yeah I would like that too," he responded.

Now it was time to plan date No. 2...And my outfit to the Law Enforcement Banquet.




103 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page