top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNikkiHallman

Sex and the Small City Ep 4: So, what is this?

I left Mike's house feeling a little giddy. We finally had our first kiss and it was good. I was ready for another one.

Our next date wasn't going to be much of a date, but rather a public-display-of-a-possible-boyfriend which I had not experienced in over a year at this point. AND it would be around people I work with.


The Law Enforcement Banquet

I bought a new jumpsuit, which I prefer over dresses most of the time. My longer legs really slip into an outfit like that perfectly and I feel amazing in them.

I arrive at the banquet which is held at the Mexican restaurant. It's a small town, you get it. There's a table saved at the front for myself and a coworker of mine, this way I have a good seat to take photos for the paper. But I realized you can easily see everyone in the room, and I immediately spot Mike. He dressed properly for the event. Nice dark jeans with a button up and black vest to throw out the office look. Although, I wasn't quite sure what I felt when I saw him.

Have you ever heard someone say, 'you know you're with the right person if you can look at them across the room and only think about them'?


I sit to eat quickly and act like I am only there to do my job.

Mike and I have already exchanged a few texts back and forth, him asking when I will come say hi. I finish my dinner and decide to go chat before the speeches begin.


He is sitting with a few people all a bit older than us, I'd say early fifties. After introducing myself to everyone, one of the gentleman at the table asked if me and Mike are together or friends.

I panic a little bit as I make quick eye contact with Mike.

"Oh we're just friends" I tried to say naturally, but that's not all how it came out and I knew it by the way the man was staring at me.

The gentleman later asked about a tattoo of mine. I explained it was in regards to my epilepsy and included my family's motto.

Under Mike's breath he says: "Oh I didn't know that".

Immediately I think to myself, 'Actually, you haven't asked me about any of my tattoos'.

We've been seeing each other for about three weeks so I thought that's enough time to get to know someone. This made me ponder if he was seriously interested. He hadn't asked a lot of questions about myself.


We asked about our favorite movies, a little bit about our past and the future, that we both love dogs, but something was missing. I am not saying he needed to specifically ask me about my tattoos but it was strange that it wasn't a topic of discussion considering I have 20 of them that are very obvious. I let it blow over hoping he would ask later.

Mike had mentioned prior to the banquet that we should get a photo together. I was a little skeptical because I still didn't know what this was, what we were, but why not.


After snapping a photo, we decide to reconnect when we're ready to leave because...I invited him over for the first time.

I revisit with my coworker, enjoy the banquet, take some photos and then hit the bathroom before I leave. My coworker joined me, but left as I was struggling to get my neck button to actually button.....I could not get it and no one was there to help me. AGAIN?? What is it with my damn clothes? They're not that cheap.

I peeked out of the bathroom, holding my neck in front of an entire restaurant of people but see my coworker. She's little older as well, around 55 or 60 with grandkids but is the sweetest.

Unfortunately, I interrupt her from conversation as I'm having a fashion emergency but she decides to introduce me to a county investigator... It was a rough scene (hehe). This is an important person -I would go on to work with in the future- and I'm holding my neck awkwardly until I can sneak in a whisper for help.

We run to the bathroom and struggle for almost five minutes, and I know Mike is waiting at this point.


Finally, I get it together and head out to meet with Mike.

"Are you ready to go?" he asked me.

"Yeah, do you want to follow me?"

"I have to stop at home quick for the dogs, so just text me your address" he said.


I send him my address and head home to quickly change and make sure the house looks the way I want it to. This is the first time I would have a guy over since I moved into my house. Not me getting nervous or anything, but I know my confidence has improved over the last year so I'm hoping my hands don't get sweaty again. He texted me he going to stop and get some movies, which I thought was a great idea.



I started to wonder what the rest of the night would bring.

87 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page