top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNikkiHallman

Sex and the Small City Ep: 1

This title may sound familiar. If it doesn't ring a bell, it's my own spin off from Sex and the City. A television series that landed two movies after six seasons and now has a follow-up series called, 'And Just Like That.' To summarize, the show is about four women who live in New York City basically living their best lives. The main character Carrie, writes a weekly newspaper column, can you guess what it's called? Sex and the City. It's about her dating experiences, life experiences, girlfriend gossip and everything in between.

This is kind of like that. But in a small city where dating is almost non-existent and in modern day. These are the entries of my real life dating stories. And, I'll keep PG-13...


Two months after living in a city of 3,000 people, and in the middle of winter, I realized how difficult dating is. I got a new job as a reporter -in a small town as well- so moving closer to my job most likely meant moving to the 'boonies'. I've experienced both lifestyles. City/burbs where you can drive four minutes and get anywhere. And a small city where you need to drive at least a half hour to reach a decent mall. I do not prefer small town but everything is cheaper including the amazing house I bought. Score!


After browsing Hinge, a dating app I was new to, there were ZERO options. Which is unfortunate because the app is a little more personal and I liked that. Instead of a bio, you could answer specific questions and see the people that swiped right on you without having to swipe right on them. Perfect.


Ugh, Tinder it is. The app that makes you feel like maybe you've hit another low part in your life. Everyone looking at your profile says 'hoe' under their breath just because you are using it. But a confident hoe I will be! You can't avoid it so, just start swiping.


Blonde hair, blue eyes. Lives two towns away. A guy who clearly works out with two gym mirror pics on his profile, one flexing. I know I can't fit my entire hand around his bicep, so I'm all for it. He is also in a security uniform. Immediately I think Magic Mike. His name is also Mike....... and he's a Capricorn. Done deal, swipe right. It's a match.


"Hey, wanna get out of here?"

That's the pickup line. It's like a first impression over text. You never know what tone of voice it's said in so how can you tell if it's sweet, sexy or creepy?

"Depends where?" I asked him.


We then talked about going on a date right away. No small talk, no questions about one another, nothing. Applebees.....so classy right. Well, our options are limited and there's no way I'm driving to the cities to a nice restaurant. It's a date. Wednesday, we'll meet for lunch.


Now we have small talk -on Tinder, until our date. He has two dogs, like myself. His own house and works for the county as a security reserve officer. Pretty hot. Not gonna lie. I've also been on a dry spell, so at this point, I'm open to whatever relationship options come my way, safely of course. I try to feel him out, but he's very hard to read. We certainly have some things in common, but once I see him face-to-face, I'll get my true reaction. I make sure not to get excited and be open minded about the whole thing. It's been almost two years since I was in a serious relationship. I'm not in a hurry. If I trip and fall over someone I met on Tinder, so be it. But don't forget it screams 'hoe'. So I'm not even sure what I'm getting myself into.


Wednesday -First date with Mike.

My palms are a little sweaty. The last time I made contact with an attractive man was in a one-night-stand form where I was confident AF. Real dates, not as much. I keep my head up and get out of the car. Just as hot in person. He's slightly taller than me, and I'm in heels. Initial reaction, solid A.



129 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page