top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNikkiHallman

Finding My Happiness

One of the challenges my generation may struggle with (early millennials) is finding confidence, self-love and happiness. Now in my own experience, it's no easy task. It takes time and you have to do it all on your own.


I was transitioning from 2017 to 2018, finally turned 21 and life seemed to be a little easier. I had no idea how to go about the future, it was kind of a "just do it time". As a college student I was working part-time and trying to find out who I was. Sounds #cliché maybe, but it was time to make tough decisions, which now seem so miniscule. Living with roommates my first year of college brought some difficulties partly because I was freshly out of the military and needed to find my place. With all of that I decided I had to wing it, so I did.



I made the decision to live on my own. A huge step that I was lucky enough to afford and I am beyond thankful! I moved to a one-bedroom apartment and had the help of my best friend which made the whole process go smoothly. I was pretty nervous to have some much alone time, but I gained a lot of strength, plus I had my pup Saul to bring a smile to my face everyday!


Slowly but surely, things were coming together.


I was decorating exactly how I wanted. Figuring out a style that I didn't even know I had. Enjoying no rules, or specific chore duties I got to do what I wanted. I felt so free and happy with where I was going!


I started to work my butt off at my job and nonetheless, I was promoted. I learned a lot from that. I understood my worth but realized I didn't want such a big responsibility for the place I was in. A new exciting opportunity came my way and I got a new job somewhere I felt would bring wonderful benefits and it even fit my degree to some extent. I was starting to feel like things were falling into place.


Somehow a few things were missing. In college I had a hard time finding a guy that respected me and was happy for me and who I'd become. Shitty maybe but I am so glad I stood my ground and kept those standards because everyone deserves to have someone that supports their life goals, achievements etc.


At some point I struggled with sad feelings that weren't necessary, yes I'm a little emotional, whatever haha... But that trait also helped me tremendously. On the 4th of July 2018, I had to work a shift on my own. I was dressed up and fine with working through the day, motivated to show my dependability. But when I got home, some plans fell through and I ended up hanging out with Saul for the night. Also on a huge diet at the time, I didn't have a delicious meal planned. I was so bummed out how things went but finally, I had an epiphany. Cheesy right, but true! I sat down and took a moment to tell myself that things were fine. I could watch fireworks from the rooftop of my apartment (so cool btw). I told myself I'd make a #pizza and have a good ass night! Why sit and be sad when I could make the situation fun and enjoyable? So that's exactly what I did!


All of the time I spent on my own plus the epiphany, changed everything and there has been less sad feelings ever since! I can be confident in my skills, understand what I am worth (yes, be #selfish) and all that I wanted to be, happy. I didn't let the little things bother me as much. I didn't get worked up and dealt with my life as positive as possible! Let me tell you how stress free I have been! And to top it all off, the waiting and the alone time was worth it! I am surrounded by friends, family and a wonderful guy that appreciates me for who I am. They are the ones that bring positivity to my life. Happy as can be because that's what life is about right? Enjoy every minute of it.


Now I'm not saying you can't achieve this without a significant other or close friends, but your mind has to be somewhat separated from all of that. Find your #happiness, take the time figure out goals and who you are. You are in charge of your own life and you are the only one who can make yourself the happiest.




20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page